It’s National Fibromyalgia Awareness Day

National-Fibromyalgia-Awareness-Day-May-12-300x150

Fibromyalgia, which affects more than 12 million Americans, is a musculoskeletal syndrome that may cause some or all of the following: widespread pain, tender points, incapacitating fatigue, anxiety, depression, migraines/chronic headaches, irritable bowel syndrome, irritable bladder, insomnia, hypersensitivity to cold/hot, swelling, fibro fog (inability to concentrate/focus), difficulty remembering, numbness, stiffness, decreased energy, noise, light and odor sensitivity and skin sensitivity.

I guess you could say my business began because of fibromyalgia. Because I couldn’t work and because I had to rest so much, I took up my old hobby of crocheting.  I tried to make money for my family with my hobby, and after some time of crocheting hats and scarves and dolls, Suncatcher Craft Eyes was born.

Long story short, my doctor thought I had fibromyalgia for about 5 years.  I had chronic pain, fatigue, insomnia,fibro fog, and eventually anxiety and depression because of all the other symptoms.  Then thankfully I got a CT scan which showed a bad disk in my lower back.  Turns out that disk was causing all my problems.  I’m one of the lucky ones.  After surgery all of my symptoms went away.

My heart goes out to everyone with fibromyalgia.  It’s a difficult illness to have in more ways than one.

About Michelle

Creator & owner of Suncatcher Craft Eyes.

Posted on May 12, 2016, in Behind the scenes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

