Snow day!

We’re getting snow and freezing rain here in Maine today.  That means it’s a snow day!  It reminds me of being a little girl and watching TV in the morning to see if my school would be listed on the school closing announcements.

A snow day for me now is totally different than a snow day when I was going to working.  I worked in the medical field, and my job required me to go in to work even if there was a bad snowstorm.  I can’t count the number of times I drove in horrible road conditions, white knuckling it all the way to work and back home again.  Sometimes I’d have to drive 10 miles an hour or less just to make it home in one piece.

Even when I worked at home, I wasn’t safe from winter driving.  I worked 3rd shift as a medical transcriptionist typing STAT reports at home for a local hospital.  One night at about 1 in the morning, my power went out during a blizzard.  I’m talking white-out conditions and 2 feet of snow on the roads.  My supervisor told me I had to go to the office to finish my shift.  I tried, I really did.  I made it about 100 feet down the road, but the snow kept sucking my tires toward the ditch and I gave up.  It was really scary.  If you work for a hospital, this kind of makes sense … patient care comes first.  But I wasn’t involved in direct patient care.  I just typed up the reports.  Yes, they’re important, but not as important as my life.

I never understood all the other businesses that stayed open and put their employee’s lives at risk by forcing them to go to work during snowstorms.  Last year there was a 75-car pileup a few miles from my house due to snow and ice on the roads:

I95pile03.jpg

A 75-vehicle pileup shut down the northbound lanes of I-95 between Newport and Bangor most of Wednesday. The Maine State Police continues to investigate the cause of the pileup, which may be the largest in the state’s history. Pictured on top of the cars is Hermon Fire Captain Chandler Corriveau, who also works full-time for the Bangor Fire Department.

In my current situation, running my own business, I can take a snow day whenever I want, and it is such a relief.  I don’t drive in the snow anymore.  If the temperature is below 35 and it’s raining, I’ll stay home, thank you very much.  Snow day!

 

About Michelle

Creator & owner of Suncatcher Craft Eyes.

Posted on February 24, 2016, in Behind the scenes, Chickens, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

