Keeping my chin up

Project1

This blog is mostly a happy place, but there was a situation recently with one of my customers that really bothered me.  Before I go on with my story, I have to say that most, like 99%, of my clients are awesome, kind, super nice people.

Actually this has happened a few times before, and even though I handled each one the best I could and there was no fault of mine, I was the brunt of someone else’s anger.  Having someone upset with me over something that wasn’t my fault is frustrating, especially since I have to be really nice and patient with them.

The first time this happened was through my business phone number.  It was so bad that I don’t publicly display my business phone number anymore.  A customer called me at about 9 o’clock at night and yelled and swore at me for taking their money, called me a thief, and said they placed an order and didn’t receive it.  She yelled at me for a good 10 minutes before I could get a word in.  After looking into the order, it turns out the person never checked out and the order didn’t go through.  She checked her online shopping cart, and sure enough the order was still there.  After I walked her through checking out, she seemed in a better mood and hung up (no apology).

The next difficult situation is currently going on.  I have an overseas customer who placed an order and expected it to be delivered 3 days later … from the U.S.  I get upset emails from this person every couple days saying she hasn’t received the order yet, even though I have provided online tracking information so she can see where the package is in the postal system.  The package was delivered according to the post office, but I just received another angry email saying it was never delivered.  I’m waiting to hear back from her about whether the package was left in a different place (another door, porch, garage, etc.). Not sure what I’m going to do about it.  It was a rather large order.  If an order is say $40 and under, I’ll just refund or reship because I know post offices mess up sometimes.  But with an order this size I’m not sure what to do.  Hopefully the order will be found.

I wish customers who purchase online could understand that not every business can ship like Amazon and the post office sucks in most places.  If you’re ordering from another country, expect a few weeks for delivery.  Some packages sit in customs for a week or more.  In the case of the U.S., packages can sit in a processing facility for weeks until I call and ask what’s going on with it.  I’ve had to refund so many orders because of this, and then the order shows up.

This is only one aspect of running a business, and I’m really glad it doesn’t happen often.  I’m learning to handle situations like this, and most of the time I treat it like “the customer is always right.”  But sometimes it can be frustrating.  I’m practicing trying to let go of the stress over this and move on.  I did nothing wrong, so I shouldn’t worry about it (I’ll keep telling myself that LOL).

Thanks for letting me get this out, and for actually reading it!

Hope you’re having a good day!

About Michelle

Creator & owner of Suncatcher Craft Eyes.

Posted on January 27, 2016, in Behind the scenes, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Michelle, so sorry for you, (some) people can be so mean. I can honestly say I’ve never had any problems getting your shipments. However I have had slow shipments from other places, sometimes it just takes time. Hope you have a fabulous day, hugggggg
    LindY G

  2. I totally understand. Shipping overseas can be a nightmare. I am sorry you are getting yelled at

  3. Oh I am so sorry that you are having to deal with this. I order a lot online and the post office sucks!! When an order is large do you insure it? I know it is a couple more dollars but at least when something like this happened you would get your money back.
    Sending you good thoughts and hope it all works out ok.

    • Thanks 🙂 Actually for international orders it’s an extra $25 to get the insurance (has to be upgraded to Priority International Mail). But for larger orders I guess that’s what I’ll have to do. I appreciate your message 🙂

    • Thank you. I think I will be insuring packages over a certain price for international orders.

  4. Hi,
    I’m so sorry this happened to you! I know you provide excellent customer service, and very good products, so here’s an encouragement to concentrate on the 99% of your customers who are very happy with your shop, and how you run it.
    Cheers!

  5. keep your head up and keep on. you have a great business sense, as well as wonderful customer service. try not to worry about the occasional Ragers.

  6. You have a great product and a great service. ❤

Leave a Reply

