My green onions and a recipe for asian-inspired pasta sauce

Image

Look at all those lovely seed pods!  Large green onions are my absolute favorite vegetable.  I bought 4 of these at the local farmer’s market last year, ate 1 and planted the other 3.  I highly recommend doing that (as long as they have roots attached like mine did).  They lasted all summer and fall.  I expected them to die off in the winter here in Maine, but they came up again this year!  Yay!  I’m super excited.  Once the seeds mature, I’m going to expand my green onion patch and plant them.  This morning I also mulched the green onions with grass clippings and planted cucumbers and spaghetti squash (SO good with pasta sauce)!

I make my own asian-inspired pasta sauce, and it’s so quick and easy and full of umami!  Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

1 lb of ground hamburger

1 small can of tomato paste

1 Tbsp of fish sauce

1 Tbsp of coconut aminos or soy sauce

Approx. 1 cup of water

Large frying pan (big enough to hold the hamburger and all ingredients above

Directions:  Cook hamburger in a large frying pan until brown.  Turn heat down to medium.  Mix tomato paste with 1/2 cup of water, whisk until incorporated.  Add tomato paste mixture to hamburger.  Add fish sauce and coconut aminos (or soy sauce).  Mix thoroughly.  Add enough of the remaining water to get the consistency of sauce that you like.  If it’s too runny, boil it down a bit.

This is amazing on top of spaghetti squash with sauteed mushrooms on top.  Plus it’s a light meal and very low in carbs.

Tip:  I buy my fish sauce and coconut aminos at my local health food store.

About Michelle

Creator & owner of Suncatcher Craft Eyes.

Posted on June 11, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

