Autism and a thank you

heart thank youI’m sure many of you know what autism is or even know someone who has it.  It sucks.  I’d like to slap it in the face.

As many of you know, I have two sons in their 20s.  They are my world.  After divorcing I raised them on my own.  What you probably don’t know is that my boys have autism, Asperger syndrome to be exact.  They are intelligent, kind, wonderful young men, and I love them with all my heart.  My oldest has finished almost 2 years of university.  He’s on a break right now, but he is hoping to return this fall.  My youngest is a graphic artist and has his own apartment.  I am so proud of both of them!

Day-to-day life can be a struggle for them though.  They deal with a lot of anxiety, stress, and depression on a daily basis.  They also need some support from me to do things most people take for granted, like going shopping or being in social situations or understanding some things.  Some days even those things are impossible even with my help.  I’m their main source of support.

When I was working full time and even part time, it was very difficult to get time off when I needed it.  Sometimes my sons need me multiple times a day, sometimes it’s only a couple times a week.  I always have to be reachable by phone.  Most employers are not understanding of this kind of situation even with the Family Medical Leave Act.  You can’t request time off when you don’t know when it will be or for how long.  That is the main reason I quit my job and now run my business full time.  I’m so thankful I had that option. Now I can be there right away when one of my sons needs something.

I wanted to post this to say thank you to all of you for your support and understanding.  My business wouldn’t exist without all of you, and I am truly thankful.  With your support you give me the time, energy, and finances I need to support my sons and let them live successful lives.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

Michelle

About Michelle

Creator & owner of Suncatcher Craft Eyes.

Posted on May 26, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

