I’m hanging in there

smiley

I’ve had some good days and some panicky days and some days when I didn’t know what I was going to do.  Things are looking up, and I’m feeling much more confident about keeping the business going.

I decided to address the two things that were panicking me the most:  Health insurance and paying quarterly taxes.  Ugh.  Neither one is easy.  I figured the simplest way to take care of both was to get a part-time job. That way I can have more taxes taken out of my paycheck instead of saving to pay quarterly and still have plenty of time to run my business.

At first I was thinking I had to get a job in an office doing what I’ve always done, either administrative or transcription-oriented, and that was a bit depressing; but then I realized that I didn’t have to do that.  I have a rare opportunity to do what I really want to do, so I applied for a job at Joann Fabrics.  Funny thing is, that’s the very first job I ever applied for when I was 16 (didn’t get it then hahaha).  This time I got it.  So I get to help customers with their projects and work in a totally crafty environment … how cool is that?  My first day is Thursday, and I can’t wait.   Plus there is an employee discount, and they have a special employee discount day every year that I think they said was 30% off.  Pinch me, I’m dreaming!

About Michelle

Creator & owner of Suncatcher Craft Eyes.

Posted on May 7, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

